Icd10 CM Codes Free Lookup

ICD10 CM codes are the international classification of diseases, tenth Revision, and Clinical Modification. It is a classification system of diagnosis codes that describes the disease, condition, signs, symptoms, health problems, cause of external disease, and injury.

ICD10 code tenth revision was implemented on 1 October 2015.

  • Tenth Revision of icd10 codes services delivered on or after 1 October 2015.
  • Before 1 October 2015, ICD-9 codes services were provided.
  • All parties covered by the HIPAA must use ICD-10-CM Codes, not just providers who bill medicare.

Also Read More About X58.XXAA

ICD-10 Final Rule

On 16 January 2009, the final rule was released by the united state department of health and human services(HHS).

It mandates everyone to implement ICD-10 Medical Coding covered by the Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA).

On 7 December 2011, CMS released a final rule to manage the medical loss ratio to account for Icd-10 conversion.

After 3 January 2012, the released rule helped payers cover transition costs. Allow payers to switch some icd10 transitions prices from the category of administration to clinical cost.

On the same day, the United state department of health and human services(HHS) mandated that transaction standards for all electronic healthcare declarations must be upgraded from version 4010/4010 to 5010 by 1 January 2012.

ICD10 CM codes:

  • A00-B99: Certain infectious and parasitic diseases
  • C00-D49: Neoplasms
  • D50-D89: Diseases of the blood and blood-forming organs and certain disorders involving the immune mechanism
  • E00-E89: Endocrine, nutritional and metabolic diseases
  • F01-F99: Mental, Behavioral and Neurodevelopmental disorders
  • G00-G99: Diseases of the nervous system
  • H00-H59: Diseases of the eye and adnexa
  • H60-H95: Diseases of the ear and mastoid process
  • I00-I99: Diseases of the circulatory system
  • J00-J99: Diseases of the respiratory system
  • K00-K95: Diseases of the digestive system
  • L00-L99: Diseases of the skin and subcutaneous tissue
  • M00-M99: Diseases of the musculoskeletal system and connective tissue
  • N00-N99: Diseases of the genitourinary system
  • O00-O9A: Pregnancy, childbirth, and the puerperium
  • P00-P96: Certain conditions originating in the perinatal period
  • Q00-Q99: Congenital malformations, deformations, and chromosomal abnormalities
  • R00-R99: Symptoms, signs, and abnormal clinical and laboratory findings, not elsewhere classified
  • S00-T88: Injury, poisoning, and certain other consequences of external causes
  • U00-U85: Codes for special purposes
  • V00-Y99: External causes of morbidity
  • Z00-Z99: Factors influencing health status and contact with health services

How many ICD-10 codes are there?

According to the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), ICD-10-CM has approx 68,000 codes, compared with 13,000 in ICD-9-CM. ICD-9 has numeric categories only while the ICD-10 codes have alphanumeric categories.

Also Read About More: W19.XXXA

About Rizwan Ansari

I, Rizwan Ansari, is a medical student with a passion for writing. As an enthusiastic content writer, I have written on various topics, including Health, Fitness, and Wellness. Writing is a powerful tool that inspires, educates, and makes people aware. I am always looking for opportunities to learn and grow as a writer and am committed to creating top-notch content that engages and informs readers.

Leave a Comment